#itonlytakesone

IMG_1406

 

 

If you’re hanging around Instagram, you may have noticed an whole bunch of happy face manicures popping up on your feed. @ohmygoshpolish has ignited a movement by encouraging her fellow nail girls to create these manicures to raise awareness and take a stand against bullying, hashtagging the manicures with #itonlytakesone.

Bullying is an issue that hits home with me–like so many, I’ve experienced my share of bullying. In junior high, that bullying came in the form of girls “innocently” teasing me about my weight. Unfortunately the taunts I heard influenced my poor body image, which eventually spiraled into a serious eating disorder that I’ve dealt with for the majority of my teenage and adult years. Thankfully I’ve embraced recovery, but I still struggle with the effects of that bullying daily, even 16 years later. I doubt those girls thought what they were doing was serious, but bullying is: what you say has consequences, and bullying is never okay. Ever. In today’s society, with the prevalence of smart phones and social media, bullying is at an all time high–it’s easy to break someone down when you have the protection of a screen. That’s why it’s important that when we see it happening, we take a stand against it.

One person can (and does) make a difference.

 

IMG_1405

 

For my #itonlytakesone manicure, the polishes I used were:

  • Sinful Colors Snow Me White.
  • Essence Nail Art Tattoo Pen (black)
  • Essie Watermelon (pink accents)
  • Seche Vite Quick Dry Top Coat.

IMG_1407

IMG_1408

You can check out Bystander Revolution for more information–They have some great videos that I think everyone should take a minute to watch. And if you’re on Instagram, I encourage you to create your own #itonlytakesone manicure, and show that you will stand up against bullying. =)

Leave a Reply

